I fear for Boston. It feels like I’m watching a movie when I turn on the news. This fear is shared by the nation. As I parked in the Columbus Commons parking garage this morning to walk to my CAPA internship in downtown Columbus, I was greeted by a security guard on the third floor. I’m sure this was a coincidence, but it was interesting since my mind was filled with news of the manhunt for suspects following the tragedy at the Boston Marathon, Monday.

October 2008 194My mom lived in Boston and I love the city. I visited numerous schools in Boston when I was faced with the college decision. I was sure that I would call this place home. I just can’t imagine this city being completely locked down.

When stories like this happen, I think about other countries that face tragedies like this every day. Innocent children and adults whose lives are ripped away because of violence. It’s a terrifying reality that shouldn’t exist.

The other thing that I try to do is increase my patience. We live in an instant world. I can find out almost anything with a simple Google search. I have six different ways to reach my family (phone call, text message, two different emails for each person, IM, Facebook). I can make macaroni and cheese in three minutes. When breaking news like this is happening, if I’m not directly involved, I take a step back. I remember that the stories won’t break in five minutes. We have to let the officials do their job. It’s hard to turn of the news or stop watching my Twitter stream feed but I try to eliminate my need for instant gratification. I stay informed but I don’t speculate. I wait for official, verified updates.

Though the Boston Marathon attack is a very fluid investigation and they need the help of the public to find the suspects, we can’t expect the information to be instant.

I continue to pray for Boston and I hope you do the same.

