twoA wonderful woman who just wrote a book told me this at a lunch the other day. She knew very little about me. It was a little surprising but it was the beginning of an unbelievable lunch. We told her she should write another book with THAT as the title. She would sell millions. I hope that someday when I’m walking through a bookstore I see that book on the shelves.

I felt the need to write a post about some of the beautiful experiences that have happened to me in the last couple of weeks. I am so grateful for the remarkable people that were part of these moments. They touched my life very deeply.

  • The first was an evening in a garage.
  • The second was a night in a car.
  • The third was a night in a pro shop.
  • The fourth was a morning at my childhood house.
  • The fifth was a lunch for work.

All of these events had something in common. People I knew showing me a side that I had never seen before. A side that I didn’t expect. Each one of these incidents were somewhat shocking but incredibly beautiful. Each one of these people deserve some kind of award for what they have been through or are going through. You wouldn’t know the road they’ve been walking. I think this makes it better.

By Mike DelGaudio (Flickr) [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By Mike DelGaudio (Flickr)
[CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D,
via Wikimedia Commons
Beneath all of these experiences was trust. All of these remarkable people saw something in me that made them trust that their rawest states were safe with me. That I would appreciate the incredible stories they had to share. Trust that I would appreciate what they were saying. Trust that I would take away something from the conversation that would make an impact in my life. I don’t take that for granted.

These five instances are just the most recent. There are other times in my life that I’ve learned things about people that I never would have believed. I love these times and appreciate every single one. I believe ever person has something in their past that makes them who they are today. Sometimes you have to go beneath a successful smiles to find them. The people with these stories are always ones that you want to be in your life. If you’re trustworthy enough to hear a story like I have, you’ll always leave with a new look on life. Or maybe even some advice like…

“Don’t get married unless you have to.”

Marriage isn’t a priority for me but I’m getting to that age where people like to give me advice on that whole situation.  I don’t think this woman said this because she doesn’t believe in marriage. I believe she said this because love is a powerful thing. Marriage shouldn’t just be the next thing you do in your life…like a checklist created by society with a ticking clock.

Even before this advice I knew that I’m NOT ready to be married.

I’ll never forget that there are so many beautiful people with amazing stories  if you just listen.

I feel privileged to be living this life.

