Today I’m 23. What a strange number. What a strange feeling. I seriously feel like I was 21 yesterday. I’m not kidding! I put on a shirt the other day and thought to myself “I wore this on my birthday last year.” It took me a minute to realize that I was wrong. My last birthday was my 22nd and I had a completely different wardrobe (not to mention a lot fewer adult beverages).

Growing older is amazing. Every year comes with changes. New discoveries. New problems. New additions.

There was a Fleetwood Mac song that my mom played when I was younger. There was a lyric that always stuck with me.

“But times makes you bolder. Children get older. I’m getting older too.”

I am getting older. I am getting bolder. I’m just trying to hide the fact that under my responsible adult shell, I’m a kid at heart. At the end of the day I’m just trying to love every moment.

I don’t know what my 23rd year on this earth will bring but I’m ready for anything.

