princessWhen I was little I told my mom I wanted to be a princess. She immediately tried to persuade me towards other career paths.

With guidance from my parents and teachers at school she said I eventually changed my dream career to writer at some point. No one really knows when or why but it was probably because that’s what my mom was and I had phenomenal teachers who emphasized reading and writing.

In middle school I decided I wanted to be a lawyer. I shadowed my cousin at the courthouse a few times and was committed to this dream.

In college I combined the two. I started as a English major with my plans set to go to law school. I calculated the cost of law school during my second quarter and switched to communications immediately with the dream of being a PR professional with a focus in agency.

The first person to publish any of my writing was Harry Wolfe. I wrote articles about bowling in college for The American Bowler. I’ll never forget Harry.

As I worked towards my degree I found I was really passionate about the courses I was in and the field I had chosen. I decided to add a minor in professional writing my junior year and started to apply for internships.

During my internship at Rec Sports I met one of my favorite people. My supervisor, Katie Thomas, continues to be a huge influence in my life. The first time my article was covered in red pen I thought I was a complete failure but I didn’t give up. She made my writing better though she’s probably reading this and copy editing for all my missed commas (still the thorn in my side) right now. My graduation gift from Katie, On Writing by Stephen King, is still one of my favorite books.
I graduated and landed a job using my degree. It wasn’t an agency like I always thought but an assistant position in the marketing department of a non-profit performing arts company. I love my job and it taught me a great lesson. You can’t predict your life. Go ask Katie what I said about working for a non-profit as a senior every time she brought up the idea. I was very wrong.

Today I focus on ways that I can continue to improve. There are qualities that I want to have. I want to be a great person. I want to be a great employee. I want to be a great friend. I want to be a great sister. I want to be a great daughter. I want to be a great coach. I want to be a great bowler. I want to be healthy. I want to be loving. I want to be smart. I want to be honest. I want to be brave. I want to be hardworking. I want to be reliable. I want to be consistent. I want to be a great teacher.

Qualities are added everyday.

I want to keep getting better. Smarter. Stronger. Wiser.

I still want to become a better writer. I want to live up to that line on my diploma and résumé, ‘Minor in Professional Writing.’ It was definitely a buzzword at first…a conversation starter in interviews. “What is professional writing?” The things I learned in those business writing classes are some of the  most important tools I use in my life at work today.

There’s so many types of writing. Just take a look at the Wikipedia page for writer. Writers are poets, novelists, satirists, lyricists, playwrights, screenwriters, critics, editors, bloggers, columnists, technical writers, and more.

I’d add that choreographers are writers. They take dancers and tell stories with them. Conductors are too. They take music and tell a story with the people on stage. Designers and photographers are writers with pictures. I honestly could go on and on. Everyone writes every day whether they admit it or not. Writing isn’t always with words.

Writing can be all different lengths. On a daily basis I could compose a tweet that is 140 characters or less, a Facebook post that’s a sentence or two, a passage for a eBlast that is 250-500 characters, emails that can be 1-2 paragraphs or reports that might be a few pages.

When I was younger I loved to write in my diary. I also wrote stories. I have a few “novels” that I’ll probably revisit now that I’m older. The concepts are interesting…the writing is immature.

I still keep a diary because it’s therapeutic for me. Sometimes it’s easier for me to write then it is to speak.

I don’t believe that there is any right or wrong way to write. Honestly I just hope that someone will read my words and say, “hey, that’s kind of cool.”

