It’s not hard for me to make friends but I wouldn’t say I have a ton of friends. Keeping them is difficult. I stay pretty busy and I’m always coming or going. People don’t usually know what to do with that.

I had a group of friends I felt like I was close with near the end of high school and the beginning of college. We would hang out after school and when we could all start drinking we would go dancing together at clubs. I even had a best friend at one point. We talked everyday and laughed about everything. Then something happened and everything changed.

I saw this group of friends at a wedding last fall. It was a strange experience for me. It was exactly how it is portrayed in movies when old friends who didn’t really stay in touch get back together. Not exactly awkward. We talked about what we had missed in each others lives. We shared news. We hugged and laughed. However, it felt very cordial. Something we had never been before.

Last week I was on a business trip and missed a housewarming party for one of these friends. If I had been in town I would have gone. They posted a collage of photos of their friendship over the years. Half my face was in one of the photos but  it had been cropped. I had been cropped out of a friendship. Two years ago that would have crushed me. Today, it didn’t hurt as much as I thought it would.

The truth is I’m really happy right now. I love my job. I love the places I get to see. I love the people that I get to meet. I’m so excited about what I’m learning and where I’m going. I know that I’m really not missing anything. This is exactly where I’m supposed to be.

